As voting for the presidential and National Assembly elections begins, dignitaries include former president Goodluck Jonathan, Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP).

The New Nigeria Peoples Party’s (NNPP) Rabiu Kwankwaso has also just cast his ballot.

Under this Fourth Republic, which began in 1999, this election marks the seventh straight general election. With the exception of the fact that the three major tribes—Igbo, Yoruba, and Hausa/Fulani—have presidential contenders, expectations are high that this election will be unlike any other.
A total of 18 political parties have candidates running. However three horses are anticipated to compete in the race.

Christopher Imumolen (Accord), Hamza Al-Mustapha (AA), Omoyele Sowore (AAC), Dumebi Kachikwu (ADC), Yabani Sani (ADP), Peter Umeadi (APGA), Princess Ojei (APM), and Charles Nnadi are some additional candidates for president (APP).

Dan Nwanyanwu, Sunday Adenuga (BP), Felix Osakwe (NRM), Kola Abiola (PRP), Adebayo Adewole (SDP), Ado Ibrahim Abdulmalik (YPP), and Felix Osakwe are other participants (ZLP).