Femi Gbajabiamila, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for Speaker of the House of Representatives, won the Surulere I Federal Constituency election on Saturday.

At around 6.04 p.m. on Sunday, Virgy Oneyene, the INEC returning officer for the constituency’s House of Representatives election, announced the results at INEC’s collation center in Surulere.

She claimed that Mr. Gbajabiamila of the APC received 19,717 votes while Jeje of the People’s Democratic Party received 5,121.

According to the returning officer, Ademola Oshinaya of the New Nigeria Peoples Party received 623 votes, Benedicta Uba of the Zenith Labour Party received 660 votes, Mathew Idowu of the Social Democratic Party received 838 votes, and Lumumba Savage of Party A received 337 votes.

“At the end of voting, Femi Gbajabiamila of APC has satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes and is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected, ” she said.

The Speaker was initially chosen to serve the Surulere 1 Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives in 2003. Since then, including this past Saturday’s election, he has won elections in each of the following five election cycles.

Before being chosen as Speaker in 2019, Gbajabiamila served as the Minority Whip, Minority Leader, Opposition Leader, and Majority Leader during his 20 years in the House of Representatives.