The breakdown of seats gained by political parties in the National Assembly has been made public by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

On February 25, the commission held elections for the National Assembly and the presidency.

Mahmood Yakubu, the chairman of INEC, stated that eight political parties produced MPs in the election during a meeting with RECs on Saturday in Abuja.

The parties are the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), African Democratic Party (ADC), and Young People’s Party. The All Progressives Congress (APC) is the largest party (YPP).

In the nation, there are 18 recognized parties.

Mr. Yakubu claims that the results of the elections for 423 of the 469 national legislative seats have been finalized.

According to him, 325 out of 360 seats in the House of Representatives have been declared, compared to 98 out of 109 seats in the Senate.

He said that the APC received 57 seats in the Senate, whereas the PDP only received 29.

APGA and YPP each have one seat, NNPP and SDP each have two, while LP has six seats.

According to Mr. Yakubu, the APC has so far taken 162 of the 325 seats that have been declared in the House of Representatives, while the PDP has taken 102.

According to him, the APGA has four seats, the LP has 34, the NNPP has 18, the ADC has two, and the SDP has two each while YPP got one seat.

The APC has the majority in the upper chamber with 57 seats, although it has not yet done so in the lower House. For a party to hold a majority in the House, 180 seats are necessary.

Mr. Yakubu announced that in order to fill the remaining seats in the National Assembly, supplemental elections will be held in 46 constituencies. Yet, he omitted to mention the exercise’s date.

The head of INEC also revealed that the House of Representatives-elect will receive their certificates of return on March 8 at the same location, while senators-elect will receive theirs on March 7 at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

The commission had announced on Wednesday that Bola Tinubu, the APC’s presidential candidate, had won the election for president, which was held on the same day as the National Assembly elections.

Atiku Abubakar, the PDP candidate, came in second place, followed by Peter Obi, the LP candidate, and Rabiu Kwankwaso, the NNPP candidate.

Even though Messrs. Atiku and Obi promised to challenge the procedure in court, INEC has already given Mr. Tinubu and his running mate, Kashim Shettima, certificates of return.